BC Boards

Obedience

My dog Max is rather quickly loosing his mind. We have been doing obedience with him since he was like 3 months. He had gotten to the point where he could be off leash and would respond with no problem. He turned one year on Sunday and it seems now I have to say his name over and over to get him to respond. I find all of this so odd because his litter mate Ty has been doing just fine and actually better his commands are getting much sharper. But Max is like going nuts. Is this just a phase or what?? Any help would be great!! Oh one more thing I have been going back to basics with him like 2 min stays making him stay on leash all the time even when he plays frisbee ( well it drags but it is like 20 feet). Oh yes he has taken to growling at moving objects ( I use remote control cars or balls to distract them during their stays).

Any help would be great!!

HI!

I'm not an expert here, but I believe it is possible that your pup is going thru that "juvenile" period, and I think the best bet right now, if he is "testing" is for you to go back to basics on all of your training, keep him on leash and accentuate the positive while reinforcing the exercises that he seems to be having difficulty with.