BC Boards

Trials In New England?

Hello again, I'm back after my introduction! :)

My Mum has agreed to take me to a Stock Dog Trial, and i'm rather excited to do so. However, i'm afraid I don't know much about anything going on in my area when it comes to this!

I live in Massachusetts north of Boston, I'm not sure if there are trials here in Massachusetts, I'd be happy to travel in New England but I'd prefer not to go too deep into Connecticut, but I'd be willing to if need be.

Are there any trials coming up that you would recommend? By coming up, I don't mind waiting til Fall. I'd prefer waiting longer over travelling farther, if it helps.

I will continue to hunt around and see what I can come up with.

Also, any advice for attending a trial? I'm all ears, as I'm a total newbie to all of this and eagerly awaiting any tips! :P

I hope this is the right place for such questions. :huh:

Thanks in advance!

Check two places - the United States Border Collie Handlers Assn website (go to the sheepdog page and then to upcoming trials) and the Northeast Border Collie Assn website (check their upcoming trials or trial schedule). Both sites should list trials coming up this year and you can just see what might be close enough to you. I don't know about Massachusetts but there are active trialers and a series of trials in the New England area, so you should be able to find something.

Good luck and enjoy!

For attending -

Dress for the weather, with layers, and prepared for rain, snow, sun, etc. Trials go on no matter what (almost). Don't forget boots, raingear, a suitable hat and sunscreen.

Bring your own chair(s).

Bring your own food/snacks. Some trials offer food for purchase (oftentimes a local church or other organization will do this as a fundraiser); some are near a food source; and some are out in the boonies and it's definitely bring-your-own.