BC Boards

Disappointed with breed profile

Frogs & Dogs

I have PetPlan health insurance on my dog, and quarterly they send a complimentary magazine called Fetch. I usually flip through it for anything interesting (they sometimes have articles written by vets) and then toss it aside. This month I noticed their "breed health profile" was on (you guessed it) border collies.

So to start off, the pictured dog is a barbie collie (I'm no expert and have only seen a few in person, but this one is clearly a barbie) posing next to a rubix cube and a stack of papers. I'm already getting a bad feeling.

Then I move onto the text. The health problems they describe are lens luxation, cataracts, hypothyroidism, deafness, and HD. That's it. Where the heck is CEA? Ivermectin sensitivity? And correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think HD, hypothyroidism, or cataracts are particularly common in BC's as compared to other breeds (?)

Who writes this stuff, anyway? I worry that people are using this information to make decisions on what breed they should get.

HD does happen often enough in the breed. According to WSU's own stats, less than 5% of border collies (owner-identified as border collies) tested for the mdr1 mutation have been found to have it. Compared to the breeds where this is a real problem, the number of border collies is insignificant (right up there with mixed breeds and Old English sheepdogs). Here's the page that lists the stats the folks at WSU have compiled for their mdr1 testing. I've had two border collies who required thyroid meds; one I suspect was euthyroid as he was diagnosed when he was quite sick. I don't have time to do the research online, but I imagine you could find information on the incidence of both HD and hypothyroid. Likewise, with a genetic test for CEA, at least working bred dogs are being screened and the incidence of such eye problems should be declining.