BC Boards

skate-joring and other joring activities

While poking around REI and my work, I came across RuffWear ( kinda feeling stupid for not having known about it before given it's based in Bend, not far from where I live ). After doing some more poking about on their website, I discovered something called skate-joring, which is basically just having your dog pull you on some trails on a mountain board.

It looks incredible amounts of crazy-awesome-fun, but I've never done anything like 'joring' before and don't know the slightest thing about it regarding the safety of my dog, how to go about training it, etc. etc.

Any ski/skate/jorers here? I'd love to learn more about it and you guys are the wisest bunch of people that I know. :D

I do bikejoring with Kenzi. She LOVES it. Hope to do skijoring this winter!

A few things - Ruff Wear gear has a cool factor, but costs at least 1/3 more than similar gear from a sled dog supply place.

Make sure that you are skilled/comfortable with what ever you're going to have your dogs pull.

As far as training goes, I just put the harness on and went with Kenzi. I live on a quiet dirt road, so I just started out slowly and she caught on quickly. She loves to run/pull so that was definitely working in our favor.

I really love it! And Kenzi gets all wiggly when I take her out to the bike and reach for the harness. When I say GO she just surges forward.

Oh ok!

Thank you! Bike jore-ing might be the best place to start since he's already used to running alongside of a bike. Although, he usually loses his endurance after about a mile. But I read somewhere on here that that's all he should be running at a year old?

I used to skijor and have considered bikejoring. My experience, however, has been that I could go faster and longer on my bike than any of my dogs. I decided to just stick with biking on my own and exercise my dogs another way.