BC Boards

Have Begun Herding - Advice Needed

Jen C

Hi Everyone,

I am recently registered to the boards but have been lurking for a while. I have learned a lot already - and am glad to have found you!!

I have, in the past 2 months, started my BC mix, Wesley, on sheep (we are doing this as part of a greater project - trying to help get this pushy dog with some aggressive tendencies a little more balance - on the theory that with working sheep, the dog learns that compliance and working with the handler is necessary to get to work).

I had no idea where to go to do this - I have no knowledge of sheep, or any livestock, I am city born and raised, and never would have begun this endeavor if not for adopting Wesley (who we weren't told was a BC mix beforehand). But - if we are going to do it - I would like to make sure he is at a good facility, with a good trainer... And having been there every week for the last couple months, I still have no idea what to think. So, I am hoping you can help.

We are at Sheepdog Junction (Middleboro, MA), working with Richard Seaman. We are doing private lessons and aren't at the stage yet where we know if Wesley has any ability - but he is certainly interested in the sheep - so we will keep it up as long as he likes it and it is good for him...

Rich is working Wesley - not me (I don't know if he ever has the owners working the dogs - all the lessons I have seen, he works the dogs). And, I would like it to stay that way (unless it is better for Wesley to have me in there with him) - I don't have any aspirations to go to trials or own sheep at any time - I am doing this purely so Wesley can do what he was born to do. If this is the purpose and it will always be a trainer (not me) working him, is he benefited by this - or is the whole point to increase cooperation between me and the dog, and it is defeated if I am not handling him?