BC Boards

Getting a puppy/dog and being a total novice

I have been giving this a lot of thought. I will be ready for a strictly herding-bred (For lack of better word)Border Collie in another year or so. Would the working breeders even consider selling a puppy or older dog to a novice person with no herding titles to her name (so far ;) )

For a number of the people I know (and would recommend) a lack of "herding titles" would be a plus. "Herding titles" are pretty meaningless or antithetical to most serious working dog breeders.

If you have livestock experience and are dedicated (and have a plan) to make it work, I think there are lots of folks who would consider you. If you don't have livestock experience and/or don't have a plan to make it work, that might be an issue with some folks who don't want to see their dogs' progeny going to homes where "success" (working success, not competition success) would be more chancy.

Now, if I were a breeder and with my frame of mind, and I felt your goal was a dog that you could compete with to gain "herding titles", then I wouldn't consider you. If your goal was a dog to work on the farm and to maybe trial in USBCHA-style trials, that would be fine. There are a number of breeders that I think would agree with me, and there are those who feel that as long as the dog has a suitable home/situation, okay with them.

Soem 'breeders' even 'big hats' will sell to anyone with cash, no questions asked.

Others ask more questions and have some 'requirements'. To any working breeder, titles are not important whether you have them or if any of your dogs have them. To non working breeders, titles can be important.

Guess my point is there are all sorts of 'breeders'. Depends on who you talk to as to the 'breeder's expectations.

Why changing breeds?

Hi Pam - Happy Holidays :D:)