BC Boards

Cowdog vs sheep dog

Bullet87

hello all,

I am going to be starting my pup in the beginning of next year. He will ultimately be working cattle where he will need to bite, he already has shown that with refinement he will be a biter (I took him for a test on sheep and he was all about heading and tried to heel the ones that stood off with him.) Now I don't want to discourage this behavior as working with our bulls it is a must to have dogs that will deliver a bite... Would it be best to start him out immediately on calves/cows or should I start him on the sheep? I'm new to starting a BC for herding... My heeler on the other hand is just a natural cowdog, including the heading and heeling. He was started on a group of couple month old calves. Should I follow the same pattern with my BC? Thanks in advance to everyone for their input!

If you have dog broke calves you can use to start him, I think that would be fine. Many folks also start future cow dogs on either goat kids or sheep. The most important thing, IMO, is making sure you have the skills to properly start a dog, no matter what stock you're using, and if not, that you can get help from someone who does. The bigger the animal, the easier it is for a youngster to get hurt, so you don't want to take unnecessary chances when starting a young dog. JMO.

J.

If you have dog broke calves you can use to start him, I think that would be fine. Many folks also start future cow dogs on either goat kids or sheep. The most important thing, IMO, is making sure you have the skills to properly start a dog, no matter what stock you're using, and if not, that you can get help from someone who does. The bigger the animal, the easier it is for a youngster to get hurt, so you don't want to take unnecessary chances when starting a young dog. JMO.

J.