BC Boards

Formerly abused dogs

Bellsheep

I am fairly new to BC, have had a working dog x 2 years for goats and Scots Highland cattle. Recently I was given the opportunity to obtain a really nice imported Bitch 4 1/2 years old that was abused by her first owner in the US over 2 1/2 years ago, (two teeth knocked out, apparently by a man with a stick) in the meantime she has been used only as a brood bitch by the next owner(and her pups are wownderful working dogs!!) Bell is super smart, even for a BC and picks things up quickly. when we first got her she would only stand in her kennel and shiver, would refuse even bacon out of our hands, but fortunately we found that she is not afraid of children and started with a kid feeding her. We have used only + reinforcement with her and she is now working like a champ for us, taking commands well and enjoys the heck out of working. Couldn't ask for a better working dog, however, she is still very fragile with her trust. Any new humans, new situations (like bringing her into the house, when she usually resides in the kennel, etc.) raised voices, loud noises, sudden movements, makes her very nervous.

I am not a novice dog trainer, and have trained obedience dogs for many years, and collies for stock for 2 years, but I would like very much to continue the rehabilitation of this dog's psyche. She is such a nice dog, but the only time she is "happy" is when she is working. Her son, who is also my dog, is one of the happiest dogs I have ever owned, literally grinning all the time, and I would like to decrease Bell's anxiety and increase her trust where she would be more happy and relaxed rather than continually anxious. Any suggestions?

Keep working her. Have different people work her if possible. Trust will come. I've seen my trainer bring around abused dogs with just consistent handling and giving them plenty of work and room to breath when not working.