BC Boards

Training the look back command

catfish

I'm still in the novice class, however, feel that I am improving greatly.

Would like to know from the group how to teach the look back

command.

Your input is greatly appreciated.

There was some recent discussion in this thread:

http://www.bordercollie.org/boards/index.p...&pid=295364

I'm still in the novice class, however, feel that I am improving greatly.

Would like to know from the group how to teach the look back

command.

For me, training the "Look Back" is easiest when the dog is a complete novice. At this stage, it's very likely to go out on an outrun and miss a few sheep. I take this as a golden opportunity to start teaching the dog to look back.

Yes, I really start training the "Look Back" almost as soon as I start training the dog. Think about it. The time that the dog is most likely to leave sheep behind is when it starts its training and at this stage, we must impress upon the dog that it has to bring ALL the sheep.

So as soon as the novice dog leaves one or more sheep behind, I immediately forget what I was trying to teach the dog at the time and walk towards the "missing" sheep, giving the "Look Back" command. I keep my attention on the sheep but watch the dog (through the corner of my eye) carefully, as I repeat the command over and over.

At this stage, the dog is quite bewildered and eventually, it will turn its head to see what the heck's bugging me. The instant I think the dog can now see the missing sheep, I give the appropriate command to send the dog back on another gather.

I appreciate your dog is at a more advanced stage than this, and so you will need to engineer a situation where one (or preferably more) sheep will get left behind (or shoved into view by a friend). This will give you the perfect opportunity to do what I have described above.