BC Boards

New trick

I've been trying to teach Lucia to turn off/on the lights. She usually catches on pretty quick, but this seems a bit confusing for her. I can get her to touch the switch, but can't get her to push it up or down. I've been working on down first (off), I figured that would be easiest. Taking her paw or her nose and pushing the switch doesn't seem to help. I've even put peanut butter on the switch :rolleyes:

This week I've taught her to roll over and close the front door. Both only took a couple sessions apiece. I've never taught the light swtch trick, so maybe I'm going about it all wrong, but I would think she would figure it out after a couple weeks of trying :D Any suggestions?

Hmmm... thats not an easy one.:rolleyes: Any guide/assistance dog trainers out there??? I am no expert, but I would probably buy a cheap switch in Home Depot and nail it to a piece of wood to lay down on the floor, so she can play with it without having to stand up first? Then use a clicker to shape the behavior?

If I remember correctly, what the trainers do with assistance dogs is much like phej suggest - get a light switch, attach it to a board, and then teach the two behaviors (the nose flip and the paw swipe) with it at a more reasonable height (with the dog sitting for example). Then once the dog really has it down, transfer onto the actual switches on your wall.

I think that makes it much easier to train if the dog doesn't have to keep jumping up on the wall to reach the switch. :rolleyes: Good luck!

Great ideas! Thanks :D I'll give it another shot with a fake switch. It makes a lot of sence to teach it that way. I figured I was going about it all wrong :D Finals are all next week, so trick training is at a standstill for a bit :rolleyes: After that, it's back to teaching her to do things Mom is too lazy to do herself :D