BC Boards

Hello! I am new to this, we have a BC named Bocephus (Bo, for short). He is our first border collie - and I say first because I know someday we will have another!! He is just a great dog! However, he has a habit of chasing bikes/joggers that go by our house. The solution so far has been to keep an eye out, and if we see someone we have him lay down and stay (with one hand hovering over his collar!). But this only works if we are not caught by surprise. I am really afraid that he will get hit - once he focuses, that's it, off he goes. He has never bitten or jumped up, seems more interested in barking - probably thinks he's defending us? He is 10 monthes old, and has been fixed. I hate to have to keep him tied up when we are in the yard. Any thoughts? Thanks!

I think what you are doing is basically the right thing to do, with the [possible] exceptions of

(a) is he being rewarded for lying down and staying?

(:rolleyes: you MUST not be taken by surprise

© there MUST be no way that he can escape and be hit (and yes, that will require tying, tethering, or a long line)

What I would do is train him to recognize a bike/jogger as a cue for a behavior rather than a target to be chased. Have him lie down EVERY time one goes by (it may help to recruit friends to set him up, and it may take a while) and when he complies, reward the hell out of him with whatever he likes best (ball, toy, liverwurst, whatever). What you want him to think when he sees a target is not "Chase that!" but "Hit the floor."

"probably thinks he's defending us?"

Nope, he's herding them. Just wait until you take him for a bike ride and he tries to herd YOU while you're on your bike!

I just want to ditto what Solo said - you absolutely MUST keep him contained - tether him to you, put him on a tie out, keep him in a fenced area, whatever. Just make sure he can't get away, and throw a puppy party when he lies down and doesn't chase the car/bike/jogger.