BC Boards

Transitioning to apartment life? (Dog)

First of all, do you think it's "fair" to a dog to move them into an apartment if they don't actually need to?

I'm a college student and I was considering renting an apartment my last 1-2yrs so I could bring Zeke with me (he's kind of high maintainence and my mom has difficulty with him). One issue though, is that I think he might have some issues living in a confined space. When we go camping he tends to bark and raise a fuss when people walk by the tent (in a campground). Would it be likely that he would do similar things about people walking outside an apartment door? Or would he learn that the hallway = common ground and not bark?

The main issue is probably that he's got a mild case of SA - I don't think he barks while I am gone, but I know he will whine and let out a yip or two when I leave (or if he suspects I am standing outside the door). I figure an apartment cannot expect dogs to be 100% silent, but I don't think they'd approve of more than the odd (and infrequent) bark or yip....

So....basically, how well would a mature (5yo) 70lb dog transition from indoor/outdoor country life where he can make all the noise he wants - to an apartment?

By the way, I am not planning on doing this until next year at the earliest - but I want to figure out if it's worth the effort of searching for apartments and/or roomates.

-Geoffrey

Chesney moved from a house to an apartment just fine. I had to talk to my neighbors though because when we did first move he did have a problem being left in a new place by himself and would bark. Now he only does it occasionally, and not as long. He's happy and healthy living with me, and gets to the park a few days out of the week. He also makes a transition back to a house just fine when we go home for the summer. :rolleyes:

I would just discourage him from acting up in the house like that.