BC Boards

maltese cross

blackacre

Hey y'all,

I need some dimensions for a Maltese Cross, specifically the width between the panels. 2 feet ? Or maybe 2 1/2 feet?

Next: the rules on how you execute--and point--the damned things. I get the handler having to pick a zone and not break the plane, but, do you have to complete it in one direction before you move on, or do you HAVE to move on once the sheep break the plane or is it dependant on number of sheep through or . . . ? And how do you point various calamitous failures to execute. This part I am an expert on--the failures, that is, and how to lose all your points and still be standing there with sheep rocketing around when time runs out. :rolleyes:

Finally, I saw a pretty interesting one that involved, I think, only four panels, parallel, with a opening between them on either side for you and the dog to guard. Can anyone describe this?

A

A

We did this at a point/time trial recently. Here is what I saw/did. First, the handler was able to be on one side of the panels, and *finally* get the sheep in. At this point where the handler was very important- the sheep stopped just before the openings, and you want the sheep to not go out through the openings, so many folks who were succesful had dogs that would stay off. The handler got to the end of the panels, and used whatever power possible (swing that stick) to keep them from bolting out. The dogs who didn't stay off forced the sheep out. Basically, it was, in my opinion, an exercise in control of the dog and pressure. Usually, once the sheep decided to forge ahead, most handlers, even if they tried, couldn't get them to take the side exit. We also did this where we didn't WANT them to take the side exit, and that was much easier- IF you had a dog that stayed off!

Hey y'all,

I need some dimensions for a Maltese Cross, specifically the width between the panels. 2 feet ? Or maybe 2 1/2 feet?