BC Boards

Working BC on horse farm

I have a year and a half old BC mix, and an 8 week old husky/shep. I am a barn manager/horse trainer, as well as living on a horse farm. I want to make both into competent farm dogs. I obviously have different expectations for the puppy than my BC! How did you train your dogs to follow on chores, down stay while I'm working one of the horses, and to NOT herd the horses. My BC has a healthy fear of the ponies, but will run the fence line with them. Do you start on leash, then work to off leash? How did you get anything done while you were training? Did you train off site before asking in the moment? How did you simulate the environment? Because my needs are different, I haven't found an obedience class that works for me. I'm also interested in doing off-farm activities with the boys, I'd be interested in SAR type activities with them. What do you do with your dog?

Do you NOT want the dog to run the fence line with the ponies? Or is this okay with you?

I don't have animals on the other side of my fenceline, just cars, gravel haulers, and motorcycles. But I absolutely do not allow running the fence line. I stopped this behavior in its tracks before it even had a chance to really start. Every morning we walk the perimeter of the property. When we would walk along the road fence line I watched my puppy as he looked at the cars etc go by. If he looked for more than a second I would tell him "get out of that" in a growly tone. As he looked at me and started toward me I would praise and pet him. I did this EVERY time he looked at a vehicle going by. Once early on a motorcycle zoomed by and it was too much for him to resist. He started running the line. I RAN at him in a threating posture growling "what are you doing?!! Get out of that!" He got the message. He is 8 months old now and I still watch him when we walk. He is a border collie after all and will always be drawn in by movement.