BC Boards

Introducing BC to Horses

bexie

Hi everyone. I tried doing searching, but I didn't find anything on this topic. Feel free to point me somewhere else.

I've got a 4 1/2 month old border collie pup that we'd like to train later to work cows. But we've also got 5 horses and we'd like to be able to have the pup along when out with the horses and riding without anything happening. But I've never done anything like this before and don't want to ruin her herding instinct.

The horses are a 20+ oldenborg (big European breed) mare that is fully trained and can work stock (hasn't in a while but knows how), untrained 4yr Quarter mare (planning to send her out to a trainer soon), untrained almost-2yr Paint mare, and a 5 yr old shetland mare that is probably expecting in one pasture and a shetland stallion in another.

Molly's recall is not great yet (we're working on it, have only had her a month). She is fine at home but when out it is sometimes hard to get her to come when she thinks something else is more exciting. Training for this is made more difficult by the fact that she couldn't care less about goodies on a walk. But that's a different issue.

So far what we do is take Molly along on a long leash when we feed. She comes into the barn and into the feed area and we tie her there. She can see and smell the horses and they can see and smell her, but there isn't any real contact. We've sometimes stopped to "talk" to the horses on walks and I've seen her going into that crouched down position watching them, so I think she is sometimes interested in herding on them.

So any suggestions for how and when to let Molly have horse contact? I've got to admit that I am starting to really miss riding but don't want to just shut her in alone for a couple hours while I go tack up and take a ride and by the time my boyfriend is home from work, we need to feed and make dinner and all that other stuff.