BC Boards

Coat colour genetics question

NJK

I am a student with an interest in dog breeding and was recently asked the following question:

"I have a black/white BC dog - the dam is sable/white and the sire is black/white. The grandparents on both sides are black/white. A lady would like to use my boy on her red bitch. What are the chances of getting sable in the litter?

Any help on this one would be appreciated. I understand the genetics of the solid colours, but the sable has confused me a bit.

Thanks.

Um, if they're just breeding for color, then they probably shouldn't be breeding in the first place. That said, there are lots of web sites that discuss coat color genetics. Look for stuff on shelties or collies and it will apply to border collies as well. You'll probably get some information here as well, but I think you'll also find that most folks are going to make comments like I made regarding breeding for color--it's the antithesis of what breeding border collies should be about.

J.

I notice you are in Australia so I assume we are talking about show or show bred dogs. So I'll lead off with this: READ THIS FIRST

OK, now that we've cleared that up, for lurkers, I'll go into the color genetics, which interest me greatly. :rolleyes: I'd normally just leave it at that but I suspect we are talking two completely different cultures.

Your "red" is ee red - yellow to deep tan with a black nose, right? There is a good discussion of ee yellow or red here: http://www.ashgi.org/color/yellow_aussies.htm

Both yellow and solid color black can be genetically black. So is "sable", which is controlled in yet another place (the "A" series). I'm assuming by sable you mean black sable.

"Self" colored black is dominant over most other colors, which means a black dog or bitch can carry other colors. Merle's the only one that I can remember offhand that isn't recessive.