BC Boards

Help!!!! Frustrated Beginner Obedience

Hi, I am very new to this website. I am also on the young side(under 16.)I live on a dairy farm in Wisconsin and have a BC named Sadie. Sadie has very strong chase instincts and is EXTREMELY smart. Sadie will be a year old on June 1st. We started our pre-novis A class throught the 4-H

Dog project 3-4 weeks ago. I try to practice every night for 10-15 min.(along with walking my fair calf and finishing homework.) Sadie was taught to sit at 5 weeks of age and does her dowm, come, sit and stay very well. She is (from being the only dog on our farm) very shy towards other dogs but loves people. My Problem is the stand. I am told to put my right hand under her neck in the slip collar and my left to lift her up. Well when I put my hand under her belly she either snaps at me (but never bites) or rolls onto her back. What should I do?

Hi Sadie Baby -

I have been an assistant instructor for over 3 years at our local obedience club. While I work mostly with the puppies I've also trained novice - open.

Does she show any pain when you do this? When she nips at you? That would be my first concern. If you rule out pain, then does she at other times, show any "hand shy" disposition? In other words, will she lay calmly on her back and allow you to rub her tummy, go through her fur, cut out burs or tangles, pick at scabs, etc.? Does she allow you to run your hands all over her? Under her tail, around her tummy and back legs?