BC Boards

Clicker Training & rewards???

Okay, I am getting totally confused here... anyone who has experience with clicker training please help??

I have never done clicker training with any of my dogs so I am a newbie, and I am learning.

Phoenix couldn't care less about treats for reward, he prefers a tennis ball or his basketball. However, one of the things I am trying to teach him is to bring the ball back!

I am sooo proud that the ball is working much better than treats on teaching recall. He will do anything or go or come anywhere as long as I have the ball. I obviously can't carry a ball around with me all the time,(hmmm, maybe I should just get a pair of maternity pants and stuff them with the basketball, ya think someone would find it a little strange, since I am the ripe ol age of 57!! hmmm, might be fun)!, so I would like to know if using the ball for reward, is comparable to using treats. Do I just wean off the "ball", when his behaviour is consistent as we do with food treats???

He likes treats, but with this BC boy, I am finding out that getting him "worked-up" , for lack of a better term, with a ball...helps to get and keep his attention for his training sessions and I can incorporate the ball into his sits, stays, downs, etc. and so far even his recall (which he did beautifully with from about 10wks old to about 5 mos old, now at 7 mos. he seems to have "forgotten totally"! huh! Once we have worked with the ball for about 15 minutes, and his tounge is wagging, I can usually tell him,

"that'll do", let him settle for a minute or so, then he will take treats for a couple of "commands" (oooooh I don't like that word),but it will have to do I guess.

Anyway, Please help with any suggestions or advice you may have to offer.

Thanks JoeAnne, Mirra, Sitka, Phoenix and crew

In a Susan Garrett seminar she explained that you can use whatever you want with a clicker, as long as it is something the dog wants really bad.