BC Boards

Herding Lessons near Central KY

Tess's Girl

Hello,

I've been a long-time lurker of this board, but I'm a new member.

I'm new to the working world, but not new to the Border Collie. I had a BC mix growing up and now I own a wonderful girl who is about a year and a half. I'm curious if anyone has any recommendations about where I can take herding lessons.

Herding would definitely be recreational for me right now, but it's something that I want to make a part of my life in the future. I hope to own a farm, and possibly even trial. Even if my current girl may not be up to it, I'll keep pursing it with my next BCs (because let's be real, you can't have just one).

I live in Lexington, KY. I've heard of Shady Creek Farms in IN. Has anyone else every heard of them? Here is their website: http://aboutshadycreekfarm.blogspot.com/

They are located about 2 1/2 hours from where I'm located. That's probably as far as I could travel at this point in time. But again, I'm not looking for something immediate I just hope to begin in the somewhat near future.

Thank you.

Dear Aspiring Sheepdogger,

There are many good sheepdog trainers near Lexington Kentucky. Virgil Holland and Paul Tucker come to mind. I don't know Ms. Newhall. Most midwesterners you'd want to take lessons from will be at the Bluegrass in May http://www.bluegrassclassicsdt.com/

Donald McCaig

Lexington KY? The home of one of North America's best stockdog trials - over 600 runs over five days on two fields, from Open down to Novice. That would be the place to go, as Donald says, in May if you want to watch handlers and meet them. Better yet than just going would be to volunteer - a great way to meet people, watch the runs, and make connections.