BC Boards

Selecting lambs for training

Tilly's Handler

I have a 4 and a half month old boarder collie(Tilly) and looking ahead will need to have a group of training sheep. I have 4 bottle ewe lambs from this year I was thinking of keeping seperate from the main flock or would I be better off just selectong out some lambs from the main flock at a later date. I have Katahdins, Dorpers and some Cheviots

Dan

I would not use bottle lambs. They don´t behave like "normal" sheep. Especially if hand fed they will come running to you the moment they see you. Not helpful for training.

Your dog is pretty young to start, so I would just postpone everything to that "later date" you mention.

Lambs/yearlings might not be the best option anyway, if you start a young dog the best thing is to have dog broke sheep, ideally not "over dogged"..

Is this your first time round training a stockdog?

This is my first time trying to train a dog properly. We have always had collie type dogs we used for cattle. I sold all the cattle and got into sheep about 3 years ago and up until now have had less then 100 ewes but now numbers are getting bigger and thought that properly trained straight border collie was the way to go. I can already see the difference between the real deal and the mix breed dogs we had before was not planning on starting her yet but thought maybe having the lambs quiet to start with might help. I find once you mix bottle lambs in with the rest they are not as quiet and was trying to decide if I should keep them seperate till I was ready to start training Tilly I was not planning on starting her till she was 8 Months plus

I have been doing normal obediance with her Such as sit, lie down, leave it. heel, come when called. I take her with me when I am doing flock checks ect on leash she is very interested in chasing sheep but at this point in time would merely be a game of chase nothing more.