BC Boards

Train to Seek Out Floats??

So Ambrosia is a bit young, but I was hoping to discuss an idea I have and how others would go about training their dog to accomplish such a task.

Here in my hometown they lay out handmade glass floats on the beach for about half the year. I myself am not overly interested in finding them, if I'm looking for anything at the beach it's agates or cool driftwood. However, I was thinking it would be super if I went to the beach with my great grandma (who is 93) and my dog and my dog could find her one, since she doesn't have the stamina to just go searching herself.

I have plenty of these of different sizes and colors I could use for training, I'm just not sure how to go about teaching a dog to find what is more or less an odorless, hidden (in nooks and crannie, not like buried or anything) and randomly placed object.

All ideas would be helpful. Thanks.

I am not a pro in the subject, but I would recommend going to a nose work class if you are interested in something like this. I'm sure the people there could help you tremendously.

I am not sure what glass floats are either (but I did check out the wikipedia link above). Even though you think they may be odorless, they may have a unique scent detectable by a dog. I do know that dogs can be trained to find cell phones - i.e. an inorganic object as opposed to an organic scent such as a human, another animal, drugs, etc.

I would check out resources on the internet - or talk to someone locally who is on the canine SAR team.

Jovi

http://www.oregoncoast.org/finders-keepers/

I live in a small tourist town, so it's mostly for tourism's sake.