BC Boards

Border Collie Beginner

Hello, I am a newcomer to the BC Boards and I am a beginner in the Border collie world. This spring/summer, I am getting my first Border collie puppy (I've had a Border mix in the past) to be trained for flyball, dock diving, and perhaps herding. It will be a puppy from Culleymont Farm. I have had much experience with Border collies and I have had puppies in the past, however, does anyone have any general advice on them? Odd trivia from knowledgeable BC owners is appreciated! Or, feel free to share stories of your BC's! smile.gif

Welcome! I would like to second Julie's comment about getting your pup from a responsible breeder of good working dogs.

These dogs are very smart and that goes for the pups. I think a person needs to be on their toes when raising a Border Collie pup because their smartness means they learn *fast* whether they are learning what you want them to learn (the "good" stuff) or what you don't really want them to learn (the "bad" stuff).

As Julie pointed out, ask questions when they arise - and right when they arise because a pup can learn a bad behavior or habit very, very quickly. You will want to "nip" the bad behaviors in the bud, before they become a habit.

The rules here include that you will have to post pictures of your puppy!

I'm also pleased to see you supporting a breeder of working Border collies!

My advice:

1) Probably half the people you'll meet will say, "oh, a Border collie puppy? I hear they need a LOT of exercise!" Don't listen to them - smile and ignore them. First, growing puppies have tender joints. Overuse can rapidly lead to injury. Border collies will NEVER let you know when they've had enough - they'll go until they drop. You don't want to be responsible for letting a puppy injure itself. Some studies have even shown that puppies raised in a house with stairs (presumably, with access to such) are at an increased risk of hip dysplasia. Why take a chance?