BC Boards

Sheep, drought and shepherds

Diane,

You might want to put a note at the top that you are reprinting it from another source, or move the link to the top so it's clear that you have reprinted it, or better yet, just post the link here, since it's not original to your blog anyway. Otherwise, it looks like you wrote the article (because you're sending people to your blog to read it), and unless someone clicks on the link they have no way of knowing you didn't write it. I wouldn't have realized it at first if I hadn't already seen the article on Facebook.

J.

Is this a typo?

"...have battered Mr. Bartmann and the 80,000 ranchers across the county who raise sheep."

Can there really be 80,000 sheep ranchers in one county? Either there are too many zeros or it should be across the country - at least I would think so.

As a writer by trade, I'd strongly urge you to just post a link to the original article. Reprinting a piece in its entirety without permission is plagiarism, even if you have said it's reprinted. And, aside from the legalities, it's just plain morally icky as writers today increasingly depend on the traffic their pieces receive for making a living. They may be paid by the piece just as always, but if their pieces do not perform well they're not likely to be assigned more work with the publication and publishers now have those metrics minute-by-minute. By posting the entire article on your blog you're capitalizing on Mr. Healy's work without so much as throwing him a breadcrumb. If you want to link to it from your blog just post the first paragraph as a teaser and a link to "read the whole article at NYT".

Off to read on NYT now...