BC Boards

Backing up

Dixie_Girl

As I mentioned in my other post, Carol Anne suggested I teach Jackson to back up. I will give what she suggested and ask if any of y'all have had experience in training a dog to do this and how and if this will work.

Holding lead short, stand in front of dog, saying command back, and either swatting ground with training stick or just crowding dogs space.

I think you'll find that that is not a common thing to teach. In fact, I wonder if a judge would take points off for that? Like when they take them off for turning tail. I've never seen a dog back up at the pen, but I have heard that people teach it. I think the kelpies may do it so maybe the kelpie people on this bord will be able to help you.

I have been running open for 5 years now and I have never had a need to have a dog back up. I have found that good square flanks and a down (to take pressure off) and an on your feet (to put pressure on but no steps forward) are the tools I need for a pen.

Jenny

Thanks Jenny. The whole thing came up when we were discussing the pen. She related how if the dog needed to be back from the shed and if the dog turned thereby taking eye contact off the sheep it was a docked point! I am new to this so I need all the input and others experience I can get.

I'll give my answer, but understand it's not from a herding perspective, just a training perspective. Whether he needs to know it for working is beyond me!

You can teach "back" in the way you described. As you step into Jackson, he'll naturally back up. So, you step into him, and when he moves back, say "back", then "good back!" and reward. He needs to hear the word "back" as he's moving in the right direction. Do this a few minutes every day, and I know he'll catch on.