BC Boards

explaining a particular behavior

Hi everyone! I am new to the forums and to border collies! We have a 5.5 month old BC, a family pet, thoroughy enjoyed by my husband and I and our two young boys. I am new to dogs and training but I am loving it and clearly our little Mako is too. There is one behavior he has started to display, clearly innate, and I would like to know more about it so I will know how to work with it. We play fetch everyday (partially because he wouldn't have it any other way!). He is obeying a few commands during the game and now races back with the ball on a regular basis. Lately, part way through the game, he will start after the ball, but stops before he gets to it, and he returns to my side. As I walk toward the ball he stays close to my legs, if I stop he stops, if I move slowly so does he, if I move quickly so does he. He is very intently watching the ball the entire time, except to cast an occasional quickly glance at me, watching for my movement I assume. When we get to the ball he waits for me to pick it up and the game of fetch is on again. This is not a trained behavior but I find it very interesting that he is so very intent and focused while he is doing it. Can anyone tell me more about this behavior.

Thanks in advance,

Karen

He's young, but my first guess is that he is looking to you to tell him what to do. He's reading your body language and is trying anticipate what you what want him to do. I'm by no means an experienced trainer, but I usually find that expecting the behavior I want get a lot of positive results. Whisper may well be reading my mind, but it's more likely I am communicating to her via body language what I want and I don't even realize I'm doing it. More experienced people will likely have more useful things to say, but that is my first thought.