BC Boards

Training Issue

Circle C

Well, I'm just getting into breeding and training BC's. I just got my secod pup, a female. I have a 3 yr old male now. Hopefully I can start a breeding program in the near future.

My casper dog knows all his basic commands (here, stay, down, ect), and he will go to stock. I have been working him a little, but nothing too complicated. I was wondering how you go about teaching them their directions (come by, away, etc), and how you go about getting them to run out behind the stock....my dog wants to run straight at them. He wont go around them unless i do, and keep him w/ me. Any tips?

Originally posted by CaseyoLee:

Well, I'm just getting into breeding and training BC's. I just got my secod pup, a female. I have a 3 yr old male now. Hopefully I can start a breeding program in the near future.

You had better get your flame suit on right away because you are probably going to hear from a number of folks on this board about unknowledgeable and inexperienced folks breeding Border Collies (unless they are just too tired of going over this again and again).

Border Collies should be bred for the work. Period. Health, soundness, and temperament are considerations.

Unless you have some years of experience with working border collies, with proving them through Open level trialling or equivalent farm/ranch work, with researching pedigrees, and with understanding complimentary bloodlines, you really don't have any business even contemplating a "breeding program". Dreaming of being capable of having one some day is another matter. We can all dream.