BC Boards

speeding up downs

sheepish

Hi, I am a novice handler with a young dog who is doing quite well. He downs reliably, on and off balance, but he commonly takes a few steps after the command. He does the same thing with 'there' on the drive. This often puts him out of position, requiring another flank. A friend suggested I overcome this by telling him a little early, but I have enough timing problems without calculating that extra yard! Any training tips on speeding this up would be greatly appreciated.

Jill

I might be inclined to work on this away from stock a little bit initially to try to get a better sense of what's going on. If he's moving at a high rate of speed, he may actually be stopping as quick as he can, in which case you need to follow your friend's advice.

If he's cheating and taking those two or three steps because he can get away with it, you have to make it so that he can't get away with it.

When he's not on sheep and is just running and playing, tell him to lie down and see what happens. If he takes about the same number of steps that he does when he's working, chances are that he's trying to stop on sheep as well, but simply doesn't have the braking power.

If he's cheating -- and I suspect that's the case here -- you need to start to insist that lie down means lie down right now right where you are.

Tell him to lie down, and if he doesn't stop instantly, go through the sheep to him and make him lie down. I've seen one trainer who will pick the dog up and put him back where he was told to lie down. I don't know if that makes any difference or not, but he has some results to argue for it. The main thing is that he loses the sheep if he doesn't stop when you tell him to.