BC Boards

Second dog

I have a 7 year old border collie. I work as a horticulturalist at two golf courses and Reb comes with me every day to chase the geese away. She is a very good goose dog, even ganders defending their nests don't intimidate her.

I got her when she was three. She had been an outside dog and wasn't very well socialized. She had had one litter of pups, but is spayed now. It took me a year to get her to be the confident dog she is today. She gets along fine with dogs who aren't in her face. She is food aggressive.

I have been considering getting a pup to train for when she is too old to work. Plus I'm considering making a side business of goose removal and two dogs would be a bonus.

I made the mistake of finding a puppy today. Reb and he got along fine. When he got too friendly, she barely raised her lip and he backed off. He is four months old and everything I want in a pup.

Our life is happy now. Reb knows what is expected of her. A pup will throw a wrench into that. I probably won't be able to take two dogs to work with me, so the new pup will have to stay home at least for this year. Reb goes everywhere with me now, and I can't imagine leaving her home in the future.

Reb's best dog friend died recently, so she has no one to play with. That means she pesters us more at night, even though I play frisbee with her every day.

I'm torn. Do I upset the apple cart? Have any of you introduced a pup to a dog like Reb? Do they work out their differences?

Of course, I may be leaning towards getting the pup, look who I'm asking for advice!

I have a 7 year old border collie. I work as a horticulturalist at two golf courses and Reb comes with me every day to chase the geese away. She is a very good goose dog, even ganders defending their nests don't intimidate her.