BC Boards

Sheep with bum leg

D Strickland

I am new to owning my own sheep and I have a sheep that has a bum leg.

I was working a small group of sheep yesterday when I noticed that one was limping. I separated him from the rest and put him up. There were no cuts, scrapes, or anything visible. This front left leg is now swelled-up at the joint above the hoof. I can't feel anything like broken bones.

Any ideas on what I can or should do ??

Hi Dave,

Could the scent gland just above the hoof be infected and impacted? If this is infected, it would cause swelling above the hoof and lameness. Check the gland and see if you can express pus from the gland.

Good luck!

nancy

When was the last time the feet were trimmed? Are the hooves overgrown? Any sign of infection in the foot, such as inflammation between the toes, drainage, or soft, porous tissue on the pad of the foot?

Hi Bill,

I've only had these guys for 2 weeks and it was entirely too cold for trimming until today. Hooves were overgrown a little but not extreme.

This happened when I was working them pretty hard. A lot of sudden stops, cutting back, and such. I couldn't get the stinkin' llama and horses out of the field so the sheep kept wanting to go back to them for safety. Needless to say that my dog got quite a workout.

BTW my dog pulled a muscle today so she's limping around on 3 legs !!!! Geezzz ... when it rains it pours !!!!! LOL

Thanks for the reply,

Hi Dave,

Could the scent gland just above the hoof be infected and impacted? If this is infected, it would cause swelling above the hoof and lameness. Check the gland and see if you can express pus from the gland.

Good luck!

nancy

Hi Nancy,

I will admit that I had never heard of this scent gland until about 5 minutes ago. I ran a quick Google search and I now understand it better.