BC Boards

Packed Pen

kelpiegirl

So, after about 2 weeks off due to weather, I worked Lucy again today, same stuff as usual, but decided to work in a packed pen. I was a bit reticent, because I am no expert, and I want to be able to help my dog. Turns out, she didn't need it. I walked in there and shut the gate behind me. Stomping, heads down reception- didn't bother her one iota- she ignored it. I flanked her, she went around, both sides, against the wall- having some times to push to get there. Then I flank her toward their heads- no problem at all. She was challenged, and went for a grip- nose, at one point, and then just kept working. I was very happy, since we have only done this once, when she was just a year old. What a calm, confident, cool, cucumber. Feels good to see my girl growing up :rolleyes:

Sounds fabulous!

We worked today in a very small (maybe 16'x8'?) shed/pen with just three sheep for my very pressure-senstive and somewhat anxious wussy Celt, and I was very happy with what he did accomplish. Too bad we didn't do quite so well out in the field but the sheep were rather challenging and I was in over my head out there.

I am so pleased to hear how your nice dog is coming along. I've seen several very nice Kelpies at clinics and one I saw last fall (a dog from Oklahoma, maybe?) was just terrific, with a very competent and quiet handler. Something to aspire to...

Thanks J, and Sue :rolleyes:

Lucy wasn't perfect in the field either- I think I need much heavier sheep. It is just so hard to get pace on her, when they are always running everywhere. But, every outrun was good. It is funny- I set up, get her set, and just stand up straight and say "out" that seems to work WAY better than a cb, or away. Basically, okay, I am going to send you, you know how to get out, and behind, and the only thing I am reminding you of is to stay out.

We started to try and shed today, I have no doubt she'll get it, but probably not on these sheep...