BC Boards

Youngsters turning on

Our almost 10 mos old pup hasn't really turned on to the sheep yet. He is interested in chasing and pulling wool but doesn't seem to have much idea about working with me, circling, etc. He is rather soft and looks pretty confused when corrected (a bit of a crybaby, really--he'll go off and sulk). (he's not a baby when corrected at home for regular home-type stuff). He's better with me than with either of the folks I train with (one of whom bred him), but I'm not very good at helping him figure out what's right (no surprise there)

He's the last of the litter not to be circling (though the rest of them are quite varied in terms of what they are doing). While I'd be lying if I said I'm not surprised--both of the other boys we've been training were working in larger fields by this age and started circling before they were 7 mos old--I'm not particularly worried about him figuring it out eventually. He still seems pretty immature in a lot of ways, so I think he just needs to grow up some more.

My question is what kind of age-range y'all have seen with youngsters turning on.

A second question is whether there is anything we can do short of bringing him to sheep everyday (which isn't feasible at this point) to help grow him up. He stayed with our trainer for 10 days and he got better (and was particularly better with a larger flock), but he still hasn't really understood the job (though he does dive at the sheep with his tail down :rolleyes: ).

Thanks

Robin,

I've been told Molly's male pups in general have matured late. I know its frustrating but I bet he'll just be a late bloomer. Brechin is very soft with corrections off sheep.........and while he is circling he is VERY immature off sheep.

who knows

Jennifer

My question is what kind of age-range y'all have seen with youngsters turning on.

12 weeks and up.