BC Boards

A question of position

zenotri

I have quite a broad question, I have heard different views on it & am curious to hear what you guys think...

Who is the judge of whether your dog is in the right position when working? You or the sheep?

As an example someone told me recently that my dog was in the wrong position on a fetch (she was not directly behind the sheep, but off to one side a little). The thing that confused me was that the sheep were moving in a straight line towards me. So if she was in the wrong spot...wouldn't they be moving along a different line?

Same with distance from the sheep etc, wouldn't the sheep be the judge?

I am not talking about knee hugging sheep who will go to the handler regardless of where the dog is, but normal sheep in a normal paddock.

I guess the real issue for me here is that I am no expert & I feel that most of the time my dog knows better than I do where she needs to be. I am hesitant to change her position whilever the sheep are moving in the right direction in a calm manner.

I am interested in people's opinions/experiences.

thanks

There is no requirement that the dog be behind the sheep when fetching. Often dogs with more eye will want to control the lead sheep, and this means the dog will be off to the side where it can catch the eye of that sheep. (I have a dog like this, and it was disconcerting at first, but I got used to it.) As long as the sheep are moving where you want them to go and in a straight line, it shouldn't matter where your dog is positioned (human viewpoint) relative to the sheep. In other words, the sheep are telling you whether the dog is correct, and if your fetch was on line and straight, then your dog was in a correct position. And you're right about distance from the sheep too. How close the dog needs to work depends on both the dog and the sheep's perception of the dog. There is no one correct distance off the sheep.

J.