BC Boards

Foot Nipping

Hi All--

I am new to asking for help here but love to read your posts. I am fostering a male 1-2 year old BC for rescue. I have had him one week so far and have found him to be a great dog in almost every way. Very well behaved, gets along with my dogs, no food guarding, not distructive, etc. His one problem however is becoming huge. He nipped at my daughter 17 yr old, twice while being petted. I have looked for a tender spot and found nothing. We are making her not give out free pets anymore and making him do a command (ususally sit) before petting. I understand he is trying to find his way in the pack and we are hopefully dealing with that.

He also is displaying guarding behavior. Barking and nipping at guests. He has tried to bite two people who have come in before I could get to the door. Both times he was called off and he moved away. He then came up to be petted cautiously and then while being petted tried to bite their feet. I have no idea where this came from. So far all I have done is to tell him no and make sure he moves away, either sits by me or I put him outside.

He does not nip or show any dominance behaviours with me or my husband.

Any suggestions on how to handle this better. I really think he is a great dog and could be adoptable if we can figure out his nipping and stop it before it gets worse.

thanks so much