BC Boards

Chasing - Help!

I'm fairly new to this, and training BC's in general. I had a BC as a child, but wasn't responsible for training it. I'm not totally responsible for this one, as it is my mum's dog, but I'm looking after it while shes on holiday next week. Anyway, due to lack of transport, my mums BC x springer will be walked in my local park for the week. Heres where the problem begins

She has recently started chasing anything that she sees as a potential threat. It is not herding behaviour, its more of a confidence issue. She chases kids, joggers, bikes, anything, given half the chance, and barks a lot as if to say "Go away, I'm scared of you!" Of course, the cyclist goes away, the kids go away, the joggers run away and hey presto, her chasing and barking has worked.

Anyway, I intend to try and get her out of this habit. I am armed with a 10 metre line, a multitude of squeaky toys, yummy treats and a clicker. She can be still get a reasonable amount of exercise on the line playing fetch etc. and the intention is that she will be called back while chasing (using treats and toys as an extra incentive) and then get these as a reward when she does so.

What I want to know, is this - Is there anything I am over looking? I've only ever "properly" trained my JR (who has also just decided that this chasing game is great fun).

Any hints and tips would be gratefully received.

Many thanks,

Amanda, Paddy (JR) and Molly (BC x springer)

Oh, by the way - both dogs usually have brilliant recalls and general all round good obedience!

This can be a tough problem. Take it seriously now, because it will only get harder to solve later.

Having two dogs more than doubles the problem, as they will reinforce each other when chasing and pay less attention to what YOU think they ought to do than if it was just you with the one dog.