BC Boards

Tips for shy dog

Zoot

I'm a novice handler with a shy two year old rescue border collie. I've introduced him to sheep and as luck would have it one of my pushy ewes bullied him. He has very good eye, strong interest and wears incessantly outside the fence but is reluctant to go in the paddock with the ewes now.

Should I bring him into the field on leash? I've been leading him with me to push the sheep out of the pens into the field and guarding against him being tromped on again. I'm trying various ways to have him be successful in pushing sheep hoping he will forget the bully incident.

I had a very strong BC cattle dog years ago and now a shy dog is a new challenge for me. Any tips would be appreciated!

You'll need a much smaller paddock and sheep you can move around yourself. You won't be albe to force him to do anything until he decides that listening to his instincts is worth the risk that exists in his mind. Move the sheep around, pay him NO attention, just be ready to back off the sheep if he seems to be inclined to take control away frm you. Grab a sheep, move it away from the flock, then let it go and do an outrun yourself!

Use another dog to keep the sheep in one area if you can't get a smaller field.

I wuld definitely not let him work them from outside the fence anymore. That's letting him get his kicks on his own terms. He's got to learn that he's got to take the pressure to get what he wants. You also can try tying him while you work a more enthusiastic dog.