BC Boards

Fetching a closer group

zenotri

I was in a situation the other day where I was in a laneway & there were 2 groups of sheep, moving away from us & they were quite a distance apart. I sent her to fetch the closest lot. She went around them just fine, but then saw the next lot further up & headed off to fetch them as well. Since I only wanted the closest lot, I called "That'll Do" & then "walk up" as she came back to the original lot. She hesitated a bit, looked back, needed another command & then fetched the sheep I wanted. How should I have handled this? Am I confusing her? How would you train this? but still maintain the ability to gather a paddock in different groups?

It worked out fine, but honestly didn't occur to me until I saw her confusion. It's not a situation that I have thought about before & possibly won't happen often, but I would like to do it right...Any advice is appreciated.

Now I am a novice but I think you did well. She was confused initially but responded to your commands and got the job done. When faced with something new or just unfamiliar, there can be a level of confusion and you have to let the dog think and guide her so that she understands the job at hand.

If you had wanted both groups, when she saw the second group, a "look back" and "away" or "come bye" would have sent her after the second group nicely, I think. It would have been a good opportunity to teach either just getting the one group you desired or doing a look back and gathering both if you'd wanted both.

Just my opinion. Best wishes!

I face this situation a lot because my sheep spread out a lot during grazing. Sometimes it's to my advantage as I might only want a particular group - they tend to sort themselves as they graze and if I can just pick up the group I want, I don't have to do any sorting.