BC Boards

Crossing over on outruns

dsmbc

I'm a beginner and working with a young dog. I am starting to try and extend his outrun (still really short only 100 ft). Every time I sent him, he would crossover as he got to the sheep. this is not something he's done before. He can be kind of a sticky dog and I have had to work to keep him in motion and taking the flank. Could crossing over be another symptom of the same problem? Any suggestions on how to get him to continue on the correct flank and not cross over?

The rule is - if the dog crosses over, you're sending it too far.

Does the dog cross over on both sides? Usually the dog will cross to its favoured side as its confidence ebbs (the further away it gets from the handler).

Is there some other factor involved? The dog won't be nearly as bold if the sheep are close to a fence or boundary hedge etc - worse still if they're in a corner.

Reduce the distance and practice, practice, practice on that side (or both) and only increase the distance very gradually. You can help the dog build its confidence by standing at some point between it and the sheep before you send it off. Then you can wave or chase the dog out wider as it comes past you. You'll also be closer to the dog when it reaches the sheep than you would have been if you sent it from your side - this will increase the dog's confidence.

Make it easy for the dog, then as it gains confidence, gradually introduce more difficult tasks.