BC Boards

RAW Diet

Does anybody on this forum feed their working dogs RAW? I've heard some people believe that feeding a working dogs raw meat will encourage them to potentially start nibbling on the sheep. I've been feeding my dogs raw meat on occasion and haven't noticed any tendency to bite. I'm looking for a good, affordable dog food to feed my dogs, but seems to have some serious trouble finding one that doesn't have as much cereal and corn and more meat, but seem to be unable to find an affordable one for sale here in South Africa. I can source Orijen, but at R1000 for 13 kg's I might as well feed them sheep.

Totally untrue. A rumor that has been floating around for a long time, along with the "it will make them more aggressive" .

I've been feeding raw for 8 yrs. My youngest dogs have never even had kibble of any kind. Feeding raw in not way will encourage a dog to start nipping or killing. Honestly I really doubt if a dog makes the connection between the hunk of meat you throw on the floor and an animal walking around.

Like anything you feed you just need to make sure it is a balanced diet.

I cannot imagine a dog can make that kind of connection let alone a human. If you someone fed you chicken (or any meat) for the first time and did not tell you what it was, I doubt you would be able to figure out what it was if you had no knowledge of where meat comes from (remember dogs don't know that beef= cows or that kibble came from a factory with a long list of ingredients).

My dog eats mostly raw and nothing but positive changes have been seen. He occasionally finds a dead deer in the woods or what remains of them and has never tried to chase a deer. I doubt in the dog's mind that the dead flesh looks or smells the same as the live animal walking around.