BC Boards

help

Hey there all,

I was hoping to get some advice. I have been training my dog in obedience classes since she was 4 months...The problem...lately when I take her out to class she becomes very agitated very quickly,,,she lunges at the other dogs not just if they are moving but even if they are sitting still. I had hopes of putting her in agility classes this session however the club I have been training at feels it would not be safe to do that instead we are having a one on one class to learn some o=more attention I will be using a clicker for this. She is 11 months old and if we are home or anywhere that no one else is around she is the perfect dog. I am not sure if I have made a mistake. she does not get to play with other dogs at all. Although I would love for her to. Is there anything I can do in the meantime. She comes from a long line of excellent working dogs. I do not want to keep her away from the other dogs and would really like to start her training in agility. Please help. Any advice is appreciated.

It sounds like she needs to be socialized more with other dogs. However, you really need to have good control over her, such as making her sit and stay at your side or even down her until the initial excitement of a new dog wears off in order to keep her from getting started.

Don't be shy about ringing her bell if she starts to act up--a good solid yank on the leash a few times will get her thinking that maybe she ought to play nice. When I take either of mine to class I make them sit right next to me at all times to avoid developing the habit of getting worked up every time, like some of the other dogs are allowed to do.

And don't forget, there is still a fair amount of puppy in an 11 month old Border Collie. Mia is that same age, and she is starting her third obedience class tonight because I want to make sure I can control her 100% of the time before she starts doing agility.

You said in another post that she tries to bite you?