BC Boards

Dog Bite

I have a seven month old BC. She is an aggressive dog and on occasions bites myself when handled (loading and unloading from car for example). This past weekend she bit my four-year-old daughter on two separate occasions. The first and most severe bite occurred on my daughter's face. The bite did not break the skin, but it left a raised mark. This was not a "nip" but rather an aggressive bite.

My wife is very concerned and wants the dog removed from our family. I am heart-broken because we've had the dog since she was 6 weeks old and I've become very attached. For the most part she is a well-behaved dog. I have put lots of time and energy into working with the dog and feel defeated. I have two questions for the forum.

1. What can be done to stop this behavior?

2. Is it reasonable to keep this pet in my family?

Guest Dynamite Tess

I must start off by saying that I am no expert on aggresive dogs, but I am speaking purely as a BC owner and a mother. I personally feel that all the good people who contribute to this board can give you sound advice, and help you so far, but you also need the help of a canine behavourist, and quickly before your dog savages your daughter's face. If you don't, your daughter risks being scarred for life both mentally and physically and your BC will end up being put to sleep. I appreciate that you have put a lot of time and effort in working your dog, but you say she even bites you. I wouldn't be happy with that. Personally, I feel this is a big issue, too large to cover in one message. You need an expert in their field with you, to work with you and your dog. Regards, Val