BC Boards

Which way to send the dog?

airbear

Hello,

I am VERY new to trialing, though my dog isn't. My question is: all other things being relatively equal (that is, no obvious draw or physical impediments on either side of the field) how do you decide which side to send your dog from? Do you evaluate based on which way the sheep are facing at set-out? Where the set-out dogs are? The direction of the drive? The position of the sun/moon/mountains??

To be perfectly honest, I send my dog the way everyone else does, which is not particularly strategic nor helpful if I'm first up.

Oh, he prefers the come-bye side for his outrun, though he can send to the away side too if requested.

Thanks for any advice!

Kristi,

If there's no particular draw or other obvious reason to send one way or the other, then which side I send to depends pretty much on the dog. I have one real wide runner, so if there's a fence or some other obstacle that will mitigate the wideness, then I will send to that side (again, this is assuming no particular draw that would require me sending the other way). If, as I'm walking to the post the dog keeps choosing one side over the other, I'll take the hint and send that way (otherwise you might be setting yourself up for a cross over). As an example of the latter, I was at a trial recently with a 500-yard outrun over rolling terrain so that the dog lost sight of the sheep and the handler of the dog on several occasions. The first day I sent my dog left (although she indicated she wanted to go right), and--you guessed it--she crossed in one of the "valleys." So the next day I sent her right, and she, well, crossed, again in one of the valleys. So even if you think you're outsmarting your dog, sometimes you're not! :rolleyes: