BC Boards

Age to start training?

yellowjesso

2 days ago i got my BC. Shes 7 weeks old and very very small. Not sure how much she weighs as not been to the vets to get her weighed just yet (appointment this week though)

Anyway, I was just wondering what the best age to start training is? With my Labrador, i started training at around 9 weeks old and he took to it like a duck to water.

With Meg, (the BC puppy) she seems to be having a bit of a hard time even learning to sit.

Shes so small that its terribly hard to stop her jumping up for the treat when teaching her to sit. She is leaping about all over the place totally getting herself worked up as she can smell the treat and just spends the entire training session trying to sniff out the treat than actually listening to me.

Is she maybe to young still?

Jess,

You may want to delete your post here and repost in the General section or the Obedience, Agility section. This training section is focused on stockwork and not basic obedience, so you are likely to get a lot more answers if you repost the question in one of the other sections.

J.

Well, I know that most will disagree with me, but I like to start 'em young, both with general manners, etc. and with stock. As for manners, I start the recall as soon as they are 7-8 weeks old. This is usually easy, at least with other dogs in the household, as pups will generally follow the big kids, and when I blow the recall whistle, the big dogs come running, and the pups follow. Really quickly, they get it. But, when I have a litter, even before they are outside with the older dogs, I use the recall whistle when I start giving them their first solid food or just going in to play with them. They get used to coming to it and associate it with good things.

I don't bother with a sit, but start a lie down somewhere between 9-12 weeeks, depending on the maturity of the pup.