BC Boards

how to stop singling off

Angus in MO

I'm new to BC's having just acquired my first this past fall as a pup and I'm totally thrilled with him. He's now a little over 5 months old and I've taken him with me to chore everyday for the last couple of months, mainly on a lead but the last couple of weeks I've let him drag his lead behind him on the ground (just around the yearlying bull & heifer calves which are pretty much unexcitable at this point, I'm not ready to try the cows yet and don't think he would be either for quite a while). My question is this--the last 2 evenings "Booger" has singled off 1 calf and headed him to the other side of a 50 acre lot, how do I get him to not "single off"? For the most part I'm quite happy with how he listens to my directions but when he singles out a calf, he acts like that one is his and he won't come off until he's driven it over the hill. I don't yell at him, I've heard that BC's aren't usually wrong, it's their owners that don't know how to train them that is the problem, so I need to figure out how to help him correct this. Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks Angus

Guest PrairieFire

Hey Angus -

First off, most pups are too young at 5 months to go onto cattle - I like 'em to be physically well enough off they can take complete care of themselves...and can do more than burn brain cells...thinking, for example...

Singling can be simply a puppy thing he might grow out of...if he still does it in a couple months, after you keep him put up for awhile, then I'd worry about it...