BC Boards

border collie with agoraphobia

Hi, it's me again: the owner of the rescue dog who won't leave the yard. We haven't had thunderstorms for a few days but the problem isn't getting better. I've scheduled an appointment with his vet this week and am open to medication if that will help.

This dog is about five years old and we don't know much about his past, but some other rescue dog owners have suggested that perhaps he was kept in a barn or some other enclosed place for long periods of time. He has no fear of people and is great with other dogs, but the terror in his eyes when he gets far from the house is truly heartbreaking. And as I mentioned before, this all came on quite suddenly: for the first six weeks we had him, he was happy to run several miles every day.

I appreciate all of your support and welcome any suggestions.

That's so sad - I'm no expert on this by any means but here's a thought (which you may have tried already) Take him out only as far as he's comfortable - turn around - praise/play whatever makes him happy. Repeat several times during the day (if possible) but only so far as the dog is comfortable. It's just a thought that maybe he can get over his fear gradually.

Since you said this happened suddenly, there probably was something in the environment that spooked him and you wouldn't have any clue as to what it was. I was at a seminar where the dog had associated her owner's outside clothing with an incident that happened when they were out walking. She can't put those clothes on without the dog racing to hide under a bed!

Good luck - I hope you manage to get him over his fear.

And as I mentioned before, this all came on quite suddenly: for the first six weeks we had him, he was happy to run several miles every day.