BC Boards

Differentiating between frisbees?

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting here. My 9 month old border, Ally, is an absolute nut for the frisbee, it is by far her favorite toy. My roomates and I are avid disc golfers, and took her out to the course for the first time yesterday. You could say it didn't go over so well. As expected, everytime we threw our discs she would try to run after them and pull on the leash. We tried our best to make her sit and stay when we threw, but she gets so excited when she sees the frisbee in our hands that she can't sit still. I plan on doing alot of frisbee stuff with her when she is old enough to jump without hurting herself. How can I continue to work with her on frisbee in the backyard, but at the same time teach her that she can't chase the golf discs at the course? If anyone has had a similar situation or has any tips on training her how to differentiate between the 2 games I would be very grateful.

Eileen will probably move you post, as this forum is for working stockdogs, but anyway . . .

First, while obedience is important, if you plan on making a disc dog out of her, it's not really fair to make her sit and watch while you play. You want to encourage her drive for the frisbee rather than discourage her from chasing them. Of course, at disc competitions the dogs can't chase all the frisbees they see, but in those cases most of the dogs are crated when its not their turn or on leash with a handler paying close attention and encouraging them to chill. I personally would recommend leaving Ally home when you're out to play frisbee on your own.