BC Boards

Herding test

herdcentral

Hi, when I was in my teens (nearly 30 years ago) I worked as a Jillaroo on a huge cattle station in Northern Australia. We used Australian cattle dogs back then to help muster wild cattle in very harsh conditions and they were amazing in this environment. Very smart and very tough. Thus began my love affair with ACDS and the start of a 17 year relationship with a little working bred bitch named Jess.

I now live in an agricultural area with mainly sheep and a more domesticated type of cattle and kelpies and BCS are the herding dog of choice among local farmers. I no longer live on the land and I mainly do agility with my ACDS. On the hunt for another ACD I somehow ended up with a young BC.

I have noticed that she is constantly rounding other dogs, seagulls and anything else up. She crouches along the ground and fixes them with her eye. Apparently there is a herding test you can do to see if a dog is a good candidate as a herding dog.

Being new to the whole BC experience can anyone explain what the herding test involves?

I think what most everyone will tell you - is to find a good sheepman, or woman, who uses dogs- perhaps even does some trialing, and bring your dog out to that person. They can work with you and your dog, and see if she has what it takes. Have you read the Rachel Treasure books? I would LOVE to get my hands on them!

Being new to the whole BC experience can anyone explain what the herding test involves?

Bring a number two pencil and a composition book!

No, just kidding of course. Working trainers don't usually have an official "instinct test" of any kind. They know that the first time a dog sees sheep, it's rare for the dog's actual potential as a working dog to be demonstrated.

Since you have experience in the real world of working, you would probably have little patience with the folks who believe in "instinct tests" or "certificates."