BC Boards

Confidence building during obedience

Joy's been having some issues with confidence. I'll have Joy in a stay, walk across the room, and attempt to return to my dog. When I try to swing around her side to return to heel position, she puts her ears down and duck her head.

With her obedience (actually, ANY training) I don't use harsh discipline. I've been using a prong selectively since she was about 6 months. I only use a prong during training classes, so her lunging at other dogs is more controlled (more on that in minute), and when I go to visit my guy friends, because Joy hates skateboards and will try to attack them, and the majority of the time they're on their skateboards.

On walks she's on a martingale, as with stores. When we're out back or practicing at home she's on her normal leather collar.

I've noticed that Joy tends to swing to the side when I practice formal recalls, and avoids coming in close contact with me. Off the leash, she comes great and has no problem, just so long as she doesn't have the pressure of formal training on her back.

When we're at training, any dog in close contact with her is fair game for Joy. She starts lunging, snarling and barking. The prong makes the slightest difference with her pulling. I refuse to put a slip on her.

I don't know...Joy KNOWS the behavior, I know that because she does it perfectly at home, at my moms, in the yard, on the street...etc, but doesn't show it at training and some behaviors she shows avoidance.

Any ideas welcome.

I've found that with a dog that gets avoidy under pressure, it is important to avoid putting pressure on the dog - even if it means a less than perfect performance for a little while.

It might help you to break the behaviors down into smaller parts and practice them at class that way. Of course, you can only do this if your instructor is on board.