BC Boards

Safest way to feed sheep while I'm on vacation?

fpbear

This is my first year with a small flock of Dorset sheep, and going on vacation for a week in October. They normally roam the field eating a wide variety of grass, leaves, and weeds. While I'm gone I plan to put them in the electrostop fenced area, but I'm not sure what is safest to feed them unattended. I'm afraid of all the stories I hear about bloating. In storage I have fresh bermuda hay, alfalfa hay, and grain.

I could change the diet gradually but the week prior to the trip will be very busy for me, so the simpler the better.

1) A pile of Bermuda hay. Enough nutrition to survive a week?

2) Include a pile of Alfalfa hay? Any chance of bloating?

3) Feed them grain? Bloating?

I wouldn't want to find a bloated sheep when I return but at the same time don't want to starve them either..

Thanks

How many sheep? How big a pile?

Why can't they graze while you're gone?

Free choice grain is definitely out.

Do have arrangements for water and someone to check on them while you're away?

I have three Dorsets. The pile I have available fresh in the shed is 1 full-size bale of each - bermuda and first-cut alfalfa (easy to get more from the feed store if needed). Why I wouldn't let them graze while I'm gone - I am worried about coyotes (saw one chasing around the sheep one time) so I keep them inside electrostop electric net area every night, until we get a Maremma guard dog (puppy arriving in October). We have arrangements with our next door neighbor to check on them every day. I have an auto-top off for the water pail that has been quite reliable keeping the water replenished.

I am leaning toward putting the bermuda bale in the fenced area to be safe on bloating, or should I use alfalfa? I read conflicting articles; some say that sheep will never bloat on any kind of hay, and other articles say that sheep can bloat on alfalfa hay.