BC Boards

New to herding

Hi! This is my first time posting in this section (we are active on the bc rescue forum). I have two bc/bcmix that we have recently tested on sheep. There is a great local guy that trains bcs, and he offered to test my dogs for me. We have now taken the dogs two times (My male, Dave, is what we think is aborder collie mix, and my female Riley looks all bc to us). Both times the dogs are "worked," I use that term very loosely, on the outside of the round pen. My male seems really interested, while my female thinks it is fun, but it seems more in a running around like a dork instead of actually herding. Here are a couple of clips of them in action (their second time on sheep), what do you guys think? I know they won't be herding champs, but I would like to have some type of job for them even if it is only a weekend fun thing :rolleyes:

Dave

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9oip-jBTQGE

Riley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XR7dY1WwA7w

Thanks!

Dinah

Hi. Sorry I'm not the expert (sorry, Jeanne), but I have to ask: was the dog ever allowed IN the pen with the sheep? I don't think I've ever seen a dog "instinct tested" from OUTSIDE the pen. I'm not sure what to make of it...

Anna

Hi. Sorry I'm not the expert (sorry, Jeanne), but I have to ask: was the dog ever allowed IN the pen with the sheep? I don't think I've ever seen a dog "instinct tested" from OUTSIDE the pen. I'm not sure what to make of it...

Anna