BC Boards

I have about fifty wool ewes - the original stock was Western range ewes and I crossed leister, hair, and Texel rams into them over the course of the years. They have kept that, um, attitude, of "you and what army." They move ok, but they are quite happy to wander away at the slightest pretext of terrain, building or vegetation.

As you can imagine, it's especially bad around lambing. And unfortunately, that's the time when I'm doing the most moving around of the flocks. I can get it done, but it's not pretty.

I'm a ten year novice. I've basically just been piddling around at the farm level, with decent dogs, and a couple clinics a year, and some good talented friends who ARE at the Open level to watch and talk to. But this one's been bothering me for years and maybe you can give me a hint?

How can I help my dogs? If I try to hold them back so they are in a position to cover more of the flock with their eye, that seems to undermine their confidence. These ewes don't seem to like a lot of eye put on them. I've trained a dog with very little eye and he did best with them after all, but he was very hard for me to train and was ten before he was anything close to useful. I have had trained dogs with more eye and all of them had trouble - my bad handling combined with the ewes' intimidation.

I'd love to know how to get out of this cycle before I spoil the next two set of pups I've got coming up - one with a good bit of eye and already feeling that pressure from these monsters, and one with moderate eye.

By the way - these are the most trouble free sheep in the world other than a little matter of not staying in fences. :rolleyes:

Thank you so much for your contribution here!

Hi Becca,

I know what you mean. My Katahdins, who are super easy to move normally, become stubborn and ornery with lambs at their sides. While one is attempting to kill my dog, the others are drifting away.